About Us


Water Management District:
Created Under HB 179, 1962 Regular Session
Amended by HB 55 in Second Extraordinary Session of 1962
Amended again in the Regular Session of 1964

Mission Statement

"To provide for a plan of conservation; recreation; water control and utilization; agricultural development, industrial and economic advancement, and for related purposes". (From HB 179)

Tombigbee River Valley Water Management District Includes:

Thriteen counties in Northeast Mississippi in which the Tombigbee River or its Tributaries Exist.

Current Member Counties

Alcorn Chickasaw
Clay Itawamba
Kemper Lee
Lowndes Monroe
Noxubee Oktibbeha
Pontotoc Prentiss

Board of Directors

One (1) Member each appointed by Boards of Supervisors of Member Counties.

One (1) Member from each Member County and three (3) at large by the Governor.

One Member each from (a) Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality, (b) the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks, (c) the Mississippi Forestry Commission, and (d) the Mississippi State Board of Health.